Rangers TV - still way behind the times

I tried to watch the 90 in 90 on Rangers TV on my smart phone but was once again reminded that their videos are still in the now defunct technology of Flash.

This has never been supported in IOS devices and has not been supported in Android since 2011. Even desktop browsers are increasingly switching off plug-ins which means you have to configure them and then click yes to the warnings, and soon they will not support them at all.

Youtube have been providing HTML5 alternatives for many years and fully switched to that technology in 2015.

It hasn't been supported properly for years and is fully of security holes, and is a big cause of devices crashing, and it crashes itself quite a bit.

So come on Rangers TV, what are you playing at?

[a bit technical]

I used to be a Flash developer, but even about 5 or 6 years ago, we new it was coming to an end due to Apple, and spent a couple of years trying to decide what to switch to. It took that long for the favourite, HTML5, to become mature enough and browsers to actually support it. We switched to that technology in late 2012 and have been converting Flash assets ever since as well as developing new stuff.

But the things is, streaming video doesn't require any code conversion - in fact it just means encoding it in the MP4 container to start with instead of FLV - and the normal H.264 codec in MP4 is far higher quality than the usual VP6 used in FLV.

The whole point of HTML5 Video is that there is not much coding to do to stream it.

[/a bit technical]

So I can't think of much excuses except for a lack of professionalism - or just common sense.

[a bit of a rant]

Whatever is lacking it permeates throughout the start, starting with the totally illogical and unfathomable navigation. Just try finding highlights to the latest match and it's not easy - and you'll click on the most obvious links and get taken nowhere sensible.